Cute As A Button

Well I am not much of a DIY Mommy, but I am working on it.  Today we had Emma Grace’s first birthday party, and it was as DIY AND REAL FOOD as it was ever going to get.  It wasn’t perfect, but I thought I would share a little bit of our celebration…

001 002007

I covered the E in fabric I also used for the cupcake on her onesie, then I put buttons over the polka dots.  The cupcakes were homemade and the icing was colored with raspberries because we are trying to cut out food dyes.  The “buttons” are white chocolate.  Other “real food” selections were 100% whole wheat crackers with goat cheese and apple juice sweetened dried cranberries.  Homemade spinach dip with sliced veggies.  Green grape and strawberry fruit salad.  Mini sandwiches on homemade whole wheat biscuits.

010 011

I used the button filled vase as decoration for the present table.  The button frames are party favors.

008023

We had strands of paper buttons hanging for decorations, and used small ones to decorate her high chair.

012 009

I wish the light was better in the second picture because this was my favorite thing.  I backed each one of her month pictures and then put the corresponding month number on paper clips using buttons.  You really can’t see it here, but it was super cute.

025 055

This outfit was made by yours truly, with some detailing help from my mom.  You might think it is awesome, and it is, but don’t be too impressed.  The only reason I made her outfit was because I forgot about ordering one before it was too late.  I didn’t want to pay for a rush order, so I made one.

089

We tried to get a family picture, but there was no distracting Emma Grace from her first dessert!

Well that is all I have.  I don’t know if  the decor was perfect, but Emma Grace sure was cute as a button!  Thank you to everyone who made today special.  Thank you to everyone who made this year special.

Time for some playoff football 🙂

Leave a Reply

