Let’s Eat

I said I would post more about the food we eat, and I have failed miserably.  Partially because we have been trying to stick to a budget, and we were running short at the end of last month so we ate a lot of pb&j and grilled cheese.  I will say that even simple things like that are different for us now.  We eat whole wheat bread from a local bakery that has only 5 ingredients and is sweetened only with honey.  We eat 2 ingredient peanut butter (peanuts and salt) and fruit only jelly.  However, it wouldn’t have been all that interesting to hear about those kinds of meals for 2 weeks.

Now we are onto a new month and a reset budget, so hopefully I will have interesting things to share.  One thing I have been working on is trying new foods.  I have a very limited repertoire when it comes to cooking, and I have been pushing myself to add variety to my healthy food choices.  Today I bought some beets for the first time.  I have read a lot about how healthy and tasty beets are, so I decided it was time to try some.  I roasted our beets in the oven, and topped them with a little goat cheese and a blueberry balsamic reduction.  I didn’t love the beets, but I didn’t hate them.  I LOVED the reduction and the goat cheese, so I am sure we will try the dish again.

We also had apple stuffed chicken breasts and brown rice risotto.  Before we made changes I would have made both those dishes, but the stuffing would have had store bought white bread crumbs and the risotto would have been arborio rice.  Tonight I used ‘homemade’ bread crumbs, which was just our whole wheat bread ripped up and a little stale.  Risotto is typically made with arborio rice which is not a whole grain, so we now use brown rice.  It still tastes delicious, but it takes forever to cook.

Some of you may think this sounds like a lot of work for one dinner.  It was a fair amount of work, but it was totally worth it.  The dinner was delicious and healthy, my whole night is better when that is what our dinner tastes like.  Don’t get the wrong idea, I do not spend 2 hours on dinner every night.  The plan for tomorrow is reheated butternut squash soup and grilled cheese.  I made the soup a few weeks ago and froze half of the batch.  That means dinner tomorrow night should take me about 15 minutes.  I plan our week of dinners on the weekend, so I can plan easy dinners for busy nights.  Another time saving option is freezer cooking.  Sometimes I will take a Saturday and ‘freezer cook’ by prepping multiple meals that can be taken right out of the freezer and put in the crock pot or oven.

Fortunately for me Shane was home this afternoon, so I was able to take the time to cook a slightly more complicated (though not difficult) dinner.  Hopefully I will have more of those to share about soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

