The Good, The Bad, The Yummy

I realized that I should do some posts on all of the food we eat, not just dinner.  Let’s be honest, if the only thing I needed to do to lose some weight and be healthy was cook a well rounded dinner I would be a freaking super model.  The challenge is ALL DAY eating.  I thought I would share everything Emma Grace and I ate today, both good and bad.  (Shane ate many of the same things, but I don’t know what he eats while he is at work all day.)  I know eating real food can seem daunting, but hopefully you will see that it can be simple and delicious.

The Good:

Breakfast…Emma Grace and I both had an egg and a side of blueberries.  Her egg was scrambled, mine was sunny side up with a piece of whole wheat toast.  I like to have Emma Grace eat what I am eating as often as possible.  It forces me to eat healthy for her, and it is less work.

Lunch…Emma Grace had left over brown rice risotto, a sweet potato and a banana.  I realize that this seems random, but sometimes lunch is just what we have in the house in whatever form it will be eaten.  After I put Emma Grace down for her nap I made myself an AMAZING salad.  I saved the beet tops from the beets I roasted last night.  I mixed the beet greens and some spinach for the base of the salad.  I added some blueberries, goat cheese and toasted pecans.  I made a dressing with the blueberry balsamic reduction from dinner and some olive oil.  It took about 10 minutes to toast the pecans, wash and chop the produce and put everything together.  It would have been worth 30 minutes.  DELICIOUS.

Snack time…Emma Grace and I always have  an afternoon snack around 3:30.  Today we shared an apple and some pecans.

Dinner…We all had butternut squash soup and grilled cheese for dinner.  I put some spinach on the grilled cheese to add a little green to the meal.

The BAD:

I was a bit of a selfish mommy and brought my sick baby to bible study today because I hate missing it.  I didn’t want to send her to nursery, so I kept her with me.  In order to keep her happy and quiet I let her eat a bagel.  Some of you think I am ridiculous to tell you this was selfish.  Some of you are horrified I would let her eat a bagel.  I am mostly with the second group, but it happened and I don’t want to pretend to eat perfectly when we don’t.

The Yummy:

Shane and I had whole wheat coffee cake for dessert.  I used a single serving “coffee cake in a mug” recipe and made it with white whole wheat flour.  Should we eat dessert? Probably not.  At least they were portion controlled and made with whole wheat.

There you go, a whole day of almost all real food (pretend the bagel didn’t happen).  Simple, healthy and delicious.

Leave a Reply

