A Very Merry Half Birthday

Today is Emma Grace’s half birthday.  That’s right my beautiful little girl is 1.5 years old.  WHAT?  How did that happen?  Remember when I thought I wanted 4 children in 18 month intervals?  HA!  Clearly that girl didn’t have any children.  This girl is quite happy with her ONE child for the time being 🙂

ANYWAY, I thought I would write an update on my little 18 month old.

Emma Grace is growing like a weed.  She is consistently in the 90% percentile in height and 75% in weight, so she is huge.  It is incredible to see her as a little person and not a baby anymore.  She has a number of words, but still babbles a ton.  Babbling is our favorite.  She clearly thinks she is telling us something, but is saying nothing in actual english.  It is so cute.  My favorite is listening while she babbles to Shane over the monitor.  He says I am ‘spying’ on his daddy time, but it makes me fall even more in love with both of them.

Emma Grace is a MONKEY.  She climbs on and over EVERYTHING.  Her stength and flexibility is ridiculous.  I’m sure this is the case for every baby, but it still amazes me.  Speaking of monkeys, she loves monkeys.  She loves to say the monkey sound and act out “5 Little Monkeys Jumping on a Bed” whenever we read it to her.  Actually, she loves to read anything.  Emma Grace will read all morning with me.  Sometimes she starts turning pages before I am finished, but I love that she loves her books so much.

Emma Grace’s favorite place to visit is Short Pump Mall.  In general Emma Grace loves to be outside, and the mall is her favorite outdoor location.  She would throw every coin in the world into the fountain if she could.  Her favorite activity is to watch from the 2nd level.  She hasn’t quite realized that the people on the 1st level don’t see her waiving, but it doesn’t seem to change how happy it makes her.

One of the coolest things about Emma Grace is she plays by herself in the most amazing way.  One day she walked around with a ribbon and a stuffed dog for 15 minutes.  Every now and then she would stop, put the dog down, give it a kiss, and try to tie the ribbon around his neck.  When she couldn’t do it she would just pick the dog back up, walk around for a while and do it again.  Oh yeah and she talked to the dog as well, not just babbled, but actually barked at the dog.  I could have watched her for hours.  It was the most incredible, adorable, funniest thing I have ever seen.

Well I could go on for hours, but I’m sure most people stopped about 3 paragraphs ago when they realized I wasn’t going to share anything personal or profound.  I plan to start keeping up with this blog at least once a week.  Maybe next time it will be more interesting than babbling and mall visitting.

 

Leave a Reply

