Leftovers Tonight

As a child I HATED leftovers.  Fast forward to me as a wife/mother/real food on a budget convert and leftovers are a big deal in the McNamee house.  Delicious leftovers are key to sticking to a food budget.  Tonight I NAILED our leftover dinner.

In my opinion if it isn’t some kind of moist, saucy dish then it isn’t any good just reheated.  It has become my mission to repurpose leftovers, so we have new dishes using leftover food.  Sometimes the new dishes are edible but not great.  When I have a particular moment of culinary skill, the repurposing ends up even better than the original dish.  Tonight was one of those nights.

Last week my incredible and very generous mother not only watched Emma Grace while I worked for a week, but she bought and cooked a delicious salmon dinner.  Fortunately for us, she bought entirely too much salmon.  Tonight I made salmon cakes with our leftover salmon, and they were AMAZING.  I diced up some green onions and red pepper, chopped up some dill and parsley from my garden, added a little garlic and lemon juice and of course the binding/filling agents of egg and breadcrumbs.  IT WAS DELICIOUS.  I also created a little sauce with greek yogurt, sour cream, cider vinegar, green onion and lemon juice.  Shane and Emma Grace had their salmon cake as a sandwich with whole wheat bread from a local bakery.  I made two lettuce wraps with mine.  I now want to make more salmon just to do this with the leftovers.

If you are looking for ways to stretch your grocery dollars, I really suggest starting to be creative with your leftovers.  You save money, have fun in the kitchen and keep from wasting food.  If you are looking for ways to incorporate salmon due to it’s many health benefits, throw together some peppers, onions and herbs and make yourself some salmon cakes!

Leave a Reply

