Pumpkin Pecan Yogurt

Thanksgiving.  What comes to mind when you think of that wonderful holiday?  For me it is the food, specifically stuffing and pie.  If you told me that I could have no turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, corn or even cinnamon roll breakfast (a family tradition), but I could still have stuffing and pie I would be ok with that.  Don’t get me wrong I love all of those delicious foods, but nothing compares to that stuffing straight out of the bird and pie.  I always have a big slice of pecan pie and a small slice of pumpkin pie.  My mom makes the best pecan pie in the whole world.  Due to my strike against processed food I never recreate her recipe, but I do allow myself to enjoy of the unhealthy greatness that is my mom’s pecan pie on Thanksgiving.

I have been determined to find ways to enjoy these flavors all season without gaining 20 pounds, and today I am sharing my first fall recipe of many to come.  It is a great breakfast that gives you the pumpkin/pecan/cinnamon flavors of Thanksgiving, without all of the refined flours and sugars involved in pie.  I give you Pumpkin Pecan Yogurt…

Pumpkin Pecan Yogurt

1/2 Cup Pecan Pieces

1TBSP Butter

2 TBSP Pure Maple Syrup

1 1/4 Tsp Cinnamon (separated)

1/4 Tsp Salt

1 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt (we use full fat from a local creamery)

1/2 Cup Pumpkin Puree

1/4 Tsp Vanilla Extract

Instructions: Toast Pecans for about 2 minutes in butter over medium heat.  When the pecans are toasted sprinkle 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp salt and mix to coat all pecans, then add maple syrup.  Stir the pecans to ensure they are all coated and cook for another minute.  Take the pecans off heat and let cool.  While the pecans are cooling mix yogurt, pumpkin, vanilla and remaining cinnamon in a bowl.  Separate into 3-4 bowls for serving and sprinkle pecans evenly over each bowl.

I hope you enjoy this yogurt as much as we did.   EGM ended up having 3 bowls (about 1 1/2 adult servings because her bowls are quite small).  I am always thrilled to find tasty and healthy dishes, and this sure is both.

Leave a Reply

